The story so far

Mwaramutse from Rwanda!

The first phrase I learned in Kinyarwanda, the local language here in Rwanda, was ‘Good Morning’. One of my favourite parts of exploring the culture, people and places of Kigali is learning bits and pieces of this long-winded and at times tongue twisting language.

Daily drive around town to find stories

I came to Kigali to intern at a local business publication called Hope Magazine, at least that’s the official reason. I’m a Master of Journalism student from Canada and my program is essentially awesome enough to offer its students a chance to fulfill their 4 months of required work experience in an African newsroom. I jumped at the chance to do some more travelling, as I’ve been lucky enough to see some parts of the world in the past few years. But I had not yet cracked the African continent, and I thought, when else in my life will I be offered a free plane ticket to a foreign country that is suppose to be astoundingly beautiful?

The Centre for Media and Transitional Societies, (CMTS) in partnership with the School of Journalism at Carleton University, is the lovely organization that has offered me this ticket to paradise. This blog is primarily here so I can share my experiences with friends, family and the CMTS community.

I have to say this upfront, I’m a novice blogger and I try not to take life too seriously (I think it’s serious enough on its own). For me, this blog is about describing my thoughts, perceptions and opinions on living in Rwanda. It is my first time living or traveling in Africa, and I’ve been here for about two weeks. So far, I must say, it’s been amazing, nerve racking, thrilling and a bit lonely all at once.

The office

Hope Magazine has become my second home here in Kigali, due both to its location and the people that work there. I live in a house right around the corner from work, which is great for sleeping in but not for my laziness.

Hope is a PR publication that works primarily with businesses in and around Kigali. So far it’s definitely been a workout for my business-writing skills, which let’s be honest, were a bit rusty in the first place. Although it’s not my strength, learning about the business community in Rwanda has been fascinating. I’ve heard Rwandan government officials describe the country’s current economic state as an industrial revolution. The country is undergoing massive and rapid economic development, with increasing business, manufacturing and trade operating within Rwanda and across regional and international borders. As I travel from event to press conference to celebration while reporting, I’ve discovered Rwanda’s private sector is young and ambitious, and I’m thoroughly enjoying learning its ins and outs.

 Millennium bar from my work window

My office is in Kacyiru, a neighbourhood about five minutes from town. Directions in Rwanda are a funny thing, no one describes a place by street and house number. It’s all about explaining what monument, popular bar or government building you live near. I work near the Police Headquarters and the American Embassy, more specifically across from Millennium Bar. Interestingly enough, the news last week was the fact that the municipal government will be installing street signs and assigning names to all streets in Kigali. They’re even partnering with Google Maps, to develop a more detailed online map of Kigali, complete with featured tourist attractions.

I can’t decide what I think about this. On the one hand I couldn’t tell you how many time Google Maps has saved my butt when trying to figure out where I am or where I’m going. On the other hand, getting lost in a new city is the best way, in my humble experience, of getting to know it.

I digress though, there are too many things and thoughts I want to share, but for today this will do. Murakoze Chane (Thank you very much!)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The story so far

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment